angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Cheese and Tomato Strata

Is there anyone out there that doesn’t enjoy breakfast for dinner? I loved those nights growing up when my mom would make pancakes and bacon for dinner. It was such a treat! When paging through the Weight Watchers cookbook, I came across a cheese and tomato strata that sounded so easy and really good, so I added it to my weekly meal plan. Breakfast for dinner! I also noticed that this recipe made six servings in a 13×9 pan, which is HUGE. I really appreciate that with WW recipes.

 

Cheese and Tomato Strata
From Weight Watches Simply the Best cookbook
Makes 6 servings, 6 Points Plus/serving

Ingredients

12 slices reduced-calorie whole-wheat bread
2 cups shredded nonfat sharp cheddar cheese
2 tomatoes, sliced
1 tsp oil
2 onions, chopped
2 cups skim milk
1 cup fat-free egg substitute
1 Tbs Dijon mustard
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
3 slices crisp-cooked bacon, crumbled

Directions

  1. Spray a 13×9 baking dish with nonstick cooking spray. Arrange 6 slices of bread in the baking dish. Sprinkle evenly with one-third of the cheese and one-half of the tomatoes. Repeat layers. Top with the remaining one-third of the cheese.
  2. In a small nonstick skillet, heat the oil. Add the onions and cook, stirring as needed, until softened, about 5 minutes.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the onions, milk, egg substitute, mustard, salt and pepper; pour over the bread mixture. Refrigerate, covered, at least 1 hour or overnight.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Bake the strata until puffed and golden, about 1 hour. Sprinkle with bacon; serve.

Notes:

  • Be careful which low-calorie bread you buy. I used Sara Lee 45 calorie bread, and it was sweet. This bread made the whole casserole taste overly sweet, which is not appealing in this dish. I had to add a lot of salt and pepper on top to balance it out. Not good.
  • I didn’t have time to refrigerate this for an hour before I baked it, so I only did about 20 minutes, and it still turned out great!
  • I used four slices of turkey bacon (instead of 3) because this is what I had left in my fridge. I would recommend using even MORE bacon!
  • The leftovers made a perfect breakfast!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

