angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Skinny Spinach Dip

For the most part, I eat a pretty well-balanced diet, but sometimes I go through slumps. Weeks when I think to myself, did I eat a vegetable today? How about a piece of fruit? No? Oh, ok then.

You can tell I’m having one of these weeks when you see me slurping several of these.

 

Iced. Coffee. I only buy these tasty drinks on days when I’m just dragging. I finally realized that poor diet = poor energy (and -$2.75 in my bank account!), so I’ve stocked my fridge with tons of colorful produce that I plan to enjoy all week.

Since eating carrot sticks and celery stalks can get kinda boring, I decided to make a creamy, low-fat spinach dip to accompany them. This dip is packed with healthy spinach and scallions and silky sour cream and ricotta.

Skinny Spinach Dip
from Weight Watchers Simply the Best cookbook
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

1/2 cup non-fat sour cream
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta
2 tsp lemon juice
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
Half a 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1/4 cup water chesnuts, chopped
4 scallions, thinly sliced

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the sour cream, ricotta, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper. Whisk until well combined.
  2. Stir in spinach, water chestnuts and scallions until well combined.
  3. Refrigerate, covered, until the flavors are blended, at least one hour.

Serve with veggies and crackers.

Nutrition Information: 83 calories, 3 g total fat, 2 g saturated fat, 10 mg cholesterol, 360 mg sodium, 8 g carbohydrates, 1 g dietary fiber, 7 g protein

2 Points Plus per serving

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

