angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Hasselback Potatoes (Fail)

Many of you have this seen picture of hasselback potatoes on Pinterest:

Stunning, no? When I saw this post, I immediately pinned, and several of you followed suit. I think the caption was something like “Better than fries!” Well who doesn’t want something that’s better than FRIES? I didn’t even know that existed! I had some potatoes at home, so I thought I’d give it a shot. Well, this is how mine turned out.

Not quite the same. Or even close at all! This just did not taste good. I basically forced myself to eat it. So why am I sharing this, you ask? Because I really think they can be great. The recipe is simple, and I think my fail here was all user error. I didn’t bake this long enough, and I don’t think I cut the sections thin enough. You can do better than me, I know it!

Start with these ingredients (and potatoes, of course!):

Wash your potato and start slicing it into sections. Do not cut all the way through. Smear some butter and garlic in between every other section. Top with salt and a drizzle of olive oil.

Then bake at 425 degrees for 45 minutes or until crispy. I took mine out at about 40 minutes, and I think it could’ve cooked for more than an hour, so you see why the fail is completely my fault. I know you will do better because you’re patient. And better at timing the different components of your meal. 😉

Hasselback Potatoes
From seasaltwithfood

Ingredients

1 potato
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 Tbs olive oil
1 Tbs butter
Salt

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Put the potato on a chopping board, flat side down. Start from one end of the potato, cut almost all the way through, at about 3 to 4 mm intervals.
  2. Arrange the potatoes on a baking tray and insert the garlic and butter inbetween the slits. Then drizzle the olive oil and sprinkle with salt.
  3. Bake the potatoes for about 45 minutes or until the potatoes turn crispy and the flesh is soft.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

