angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

American Macaroni Salad

On the Fourth of July, Scott and I went to a BBQ at his parents’ house, and I wanted to bring something to share. I had my mind stuck on pasta salad for some reason, so I began searching for something yummy and different. Well would you believe that there aren’t that many appetizing looking pasta salads out there? Or maybe I was just striking out or being picky, but nothing jumped out at me (not even on Pinterest – gasp!). I finally found the most simple and boring-sounding recipe of all time – American Macaroni Salad.

Not sure why I even decided to give this recipe a second look, but hey, it had a patriotic title, so I thought, why not? Turns out, this recipe rooooocks! Plus, I added bacon to it, and bacon makes everything better!

American Macaroni Salad
From Food Network

Ingredients

2 cups dry elbow macaroni, cooked, rinsed, and drained
1/3 cup diced celery
1/4 cup minced red onion, soaked in cold water for 5 minutes, drained
1 tablespoon minced flat-leaf parsley (I didn’t use this)
1/2 cup diced vine-ripened tomato
1/2 cup prepared mayonnaise
3/4 teaspoon dry mustard
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons cider vinegar
3 tablespoons sour cream
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, plus more to taste
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 lb bacon, cooked and crumbled

Directions

  1. In a large bowl combine the macaroni, celery, onion, parsley and tomato.
  2.  In a small bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, mustard, sugar, vinegar, sour cream and salt.
  3. Pour the dressing over the salad and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Top with cooked bacon. Serve. Store covered in the refrigerator, for up to 3 days.

This was so delicious! The vinegar made it tangy, and the bacon was the perfect salty, chewy addition to this salad. I will definitely make this again!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

