angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Banana Soft Serve

If you know me, you know I love sweets. The second dinner is over, no matter how full I am, I have to go in search of something sweet. I mentioned in my last post that a graham cracker with a little schmear of Cookie Butter usually hits the spot, but tonight I wanted to try something different. On Monday night, I noticed that our bananas had gotten too ripe to eat, so instead of throwing them out like I normally would, I decided to chop them up and freeze them to make banana soft serve.

As an avid food/healthy living blog reader, I have been hearing about banana soft serve forever, but I never remember to make it. This dessert is easy and obviously super healthy since it ONLY requires bananas! Well, and a high-powered food processor or blender. All you do is blend/food process the bananas until they are smooth and look like soft serve. That’s it! It’s kind of a miracle that this actually works.

We made two different kinds; peanut butter banana and berry banana.  

Banana Soft Serve
(makes 2 big servings)

Ingredients

3 very ripe bananas, chopped into pieces and frozen solid

For the peanut butter banana:
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbs creamy peanut butter

For the berry banana:
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbs honey
1/4 cup frozen blueberries
1/4 cup frozen strawberries

Directions

  1. Place frozen bananas in a powerful food processor and blend/puree until very smooth. You will have to stop and scrape down the sides quite a bit at first. Stream in vanilla extract and blend. You can stop here if you want because it’s ready to go!
  2. If you’re making the peanut butter banana version, scoop in the peanut butter and blend until well combined.
  3. For the berry banana version, toss in the blueberries and strawberries, begin blending. Stream in the honey. Blend until very smooth.

And there you go! Very simple to do, but you need to be patient because it takes the bananas a while to get going at first. I topped my portion with chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. So very delicious and a great stand-in for ice cream. Truly!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

