angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Trader Joes Product Love

I heart Trader Joes. I mean who doesn’t really? Their products are delicious, full of pronouce-able ingredients and are usually pretty cheap. My only gripe is that the stores are pretty small and CROWDED, so it’s hard to really spend your time looking at items on the shelf. To save you some time on your next trip, here are a few brief reviews of my current TJs faves.

Ok, stop reading this and run to your nearest TJs because you need to have this RIGHT. NOW. Speculoos Cookie Butter tastes like Biscoff cookies (you know, those little cookies they give you on Delta flights). If you’re not familiar with Biscoff, it’s similar to gingerbread, but has a smoother, less spicy taste. It’s the same texture and color as peanut butter, but it’s sweeter and more dessert-like. I spread it on a graham cracker for an after dinner treat. A little goes a long way, so it’s perfect like this. Yum yum!

Next up is a dinner staple in our house.

The frozen Mandarin Orange Chicken is so close to the real thing it hurts! Ok, maybe not real, authentic Mandarin orange chicken, but as close as the dish you get at your local Chinese food buffet. It’s crunchy and sweet and so easy to make. It takes about 20 minutes to cook and we serve it over brown rice and bell peppers (two more great products from TJs). The calorie count is much lower than the takeout version, and it’s just as good. Cross my heart!

Another Asian food product we love are the potstickers (or gyoza).

These are sautéed in a skillet for a little crunch and then steamed to heat through. Easy peasy and really tasty. They are the perfect side for the Mandarin chicken or work well as an appetizer (or late night after bar snack!).

The final product, Tricolor Quinoa, sounds really boring, but my love for this is really more about the packaging!

I have been buying my quinoa at Trader Joe’s all year (they don’t have it at my Cub!), and normally I would buy the regular kind that comes in a box. I always managed to rip the crap out of the bag, so I end up with a box full of loose quinoa (#firstworldproblems)! ANYWAY. This quinoa comes in a resealable bag, and it tastes great, so I’m sold.

That’s it for now, but I’ll be back soon with more reviews and some new-to-me products! Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to stop my finger from finding its way into the Cookie Butter jar!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Trader Joes Product Love

  1. Pingback: Banana Soft Serve « angie food cake

  2. Pingback: Trader Joes Product Love – Part Two « angie food cake

Leave a Reply

