angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Spaghetti Bolognese

Last week my husband proclaimed that every Sunday forward shall be known as SPAGHETTI SUNDAY! So, as a pasta lover myself, I obliged and made my way to the store to pick up ingredients for my contribution to the meal, homemade bolognese. He made homemade spinach and cheese ravioli, which I’ll cover in my next post.

I’ve always wanted to make bolognese, so I jumped at the chance. I searched for some recipes on Pinterest, but I wanted this to be really good, and sometimes you never know what you’re gonna get on Pinterest, so I decided on  a Tyler Florence recipe from Food Network.

WARNING: This recipe takes hooouuurrrrrssss, but it’s so worth it!

Begin by heating olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions, celery, carrots and garlic and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring, until the vegetables are very tender but not browned.

In a large pot, brown the pork and beef until the meat is no longer pink.

Add the wine and simmer until the wine has evaporated.

Crush the tomatoes with your hands. This can get messy, so do it over the sink if you can.

Add the tomatoes and stock and season with salt and pepper. Lower the heat and simmer very slowly for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, stirring once and awhile, until the sauce is very thick.

My sauce didn’t thicken up as much as I wanted it to, so I added the tomato paste. This was not in the original recipe though, so it’s a judgement call.

Now add the milk – the milk will make the meat nice and tender – and simmer again until thickened, another 20 to 30 minutes. Taste again for salt and pepper. Mash the sauce against the side of the pan to really blend it. See how much thicker the sauce is now?

And that’s it! It’s not difficult, just time-consuming. The milk seemed like such a weird ingredient to me, but it took this sauce from good to OMG! I definitely recommend tasting it before and after the milk so you can be amazed like I was!

This is hands down the best sauce I’ve ever made tasted! So so good!

Spaghetti Bolognese
Adapted from Tyler Florence

Ingredients

2-3 Tbs Olive oil
1 medium onions, finely chopped
2 celery stalks, finely chopped
2 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
4 large garlic cloves, minced
1 pound ground pork
1 pound ground beef
1 cup dry white wine (I used Chardonnay)
2 (28-ounce) cans whole peeled tomatoes, drained and crushed by hand
1 quart chicken stock
salt and pepper
1 cup milk
Optional
2-3 ounces of tomato paste (I used half of a small can)

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions, celery, carrots, and garlic and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring, until the vegetables are very tender but not browned.
  2. Brown the ground pork and beef until the meat is no longer pink.
  3. Add the wine and simmer until the wine has evaporated.
  4. Add the tomatoes and stock and season with salt and pepper. Lower the heat and simmer very slowly for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, stirring now and then, until the sauce is very thick. The sauce didn’t thicken up to my liking, so that’s why I added the tomato paste. It’s your call.
  5. Now add the milk – the milk will make the meat nice and tender – and simmer again until thickened, another 20 to 30 minutes.
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Bolognese

  1. Pingback: Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli | angie food cake

Leave a Reply

