angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Baked Parmesan Chicken Fingers with Grilled Asparagus

When it comes to grocery stores, I definitely do not have brand loyalty. I go where the deals take me, and this week I found an absolute steal. I got one pound of boneless skinless chicken tenders at Aldi for $2.40. TWO DOLLARS AND FORTY CENTS?! I know what you’re probably thinking, “Ew, Angie, there’s a reason those were so cheap”, but honestly there was nothing wrong with this chicken. It was fresh and trimmed perfectly. I couldn’t believe it! I know chicken tenders can be used in a lot of meals, but my brain went straight to chicken fingers. I haven’t had good ol’ fatty fried chicken fingers in god knows how long (and for good reason!), so I decided that I would bake these up and hope they would be just as good as fried.

These did not disappoint!

Baked Parmesan Chicken Fingers
From Canadian Living

Ingredients

1/2 cup flour
2 eggs
1 cup panko bread crumbs
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 lb chicken tenders
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Directions

  1. Pour flour into shallow dish. In bowl, beat eggs. In another shallow dish, stir panko with Parmesan.
  2. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. One at a time, dip chicken strips into flour, shaking off excess; dip into eggs. Dredge in panko mixture, pressing to adhere.
  3. Bake in 425ΒΊF oven until light golden and no longer pink inside, about 20 minutes.

These were really fast to make, and I had all of the ingredients in my cupboard. This is also one of those recipes that is easy to remember and will always work in a pinch. So fun to eat chicken fingers again!

Grilled Asparagus
From Scott’s Dad, Bob

Ingredients

One bunch of asparagus
2 Tbs olive oil
Seasoned salt (I didn’t measure this, just use however much you like)

Directions

  1. Wash and dry asparagus and break off the tough ends. The asparagus will snap where it’s supposed to, so don’t worry about it if they are not all even.
  2. Lay asparagus on a cookie sheet and toss with olive oil and seasoned salt. You could use any seasonings you like, but this combination from Scott’s dad is perfect for us.
  3. Cook asparagus on a gas grill over medium heat. Be sure to watch the asparagus and turn frequently as these char fast. It takes about 8 minutes.

And that’s it! A perfectly easy and delicious meal. Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Baked Parmesan Chicken Fingers with Grilled Asparagus

  1. meghanmcnamer on said:

    This looks delicious….I am going to try it ASAP! One thing that popped into my head while I was reading this is adding coconut…..it reminds me of the Coconut Chicken Salad from Green Mill. I’m gonna try it and will report back πŸ™‚

  2. Looks amazing! I love making asparagus that way πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

