angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

Turkey Meatball Sandwich with Marinara

Cravings. We all get them. Some of us ignore them, some of us indulge them. For me, it’s definitely the latter. When I get a craving, it becomes my mission to satisfy it. Today’s craving hit me hard on the way home from work. A burger and fries must become my dinner! I began mentally scanning my fridge and pantry. Ground turkey? Check. Buns? Check. Well, sorta. (We had Sandwich Thins.) Fries?! CHECK! Dinner is on!

This recipe was inspired by my latest celebrity crush, Jeff Mauro, the Food Network’s Sandwich King!

Jeff’s recipe is called Fried Meatball Sandwich, and it looks so delicious! I didn’t follow his recipe exactly because I didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand, but I am still very please with how mine turned out.

Turkey Meatball Sandwich with Marinara
Adapted from The Food Network’s Sandwich King
(makes 6 meatballs)

Ingredients

1 egg
1 Tbs dried parsley
1 clove garlic, minced
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese (I used a combo of shredded parm and grated parm from the shaker.)
1/3 to 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs
1 pound ground turkey
1/2 jar marinara, warmed
salt and pepper
oil for frying
cheese and buns for serving

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg, parsley, garlic, cheese, salt and pepper until well mixed.
  2. Add the ground turkey and bread crumbs. Use your hands to combine, but be sure not to over mix. The meat should be a bit loose, but not too wet.
  3. Form the meat into six patties. These will look more like hamburger patties than meatballs.
  4. Heat some oil in a large, nonstick pan. Fry the meatballs over medium high heat until golden brown and cooked through.
  5. When done, set the meatballs on a paper towel to drain.
  6. Place one slice of cheese on your bun and toast in the toaster oven or the broiler
  7. Assemble your sandwiches and mangia!

Enjoyed with some spicy Alexia sweet potato fries, and my craving was sufficiently satisfied!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

