angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

A Cast Iron Skillet of My Very Own

It is an absolutely gorgeous spring winter day in the Twin Cities today! The sun is shining and it’s a warm 43 degrees. The perfect errand-running weather! I have been obsessed with the thought of owning a cast iron skillet, and I decided that today was the day to just spend the money already.

I hopped in my car and drove straight to the best kitchen store I know; The Chef’s Gallery in Stillwater, MN.

The Chef’s Gallery is every cook’s dream. It’s packed with wall-to-wall goodies from beautiful Le Creuset cookware to kitchy keychains (a tiny little whisk, presh!) to techy kitchen gadgets. I wish I could move in!

Of course I wanted to buy every Le Creuset dish in the joint, but my budget is less champage and more Boone’s Farm, so I was pleased to find a whole rack of cast iron skillets that were each under $50. I decided to go with the 10 inch skillet for $24, and I could not be happier.

So excited!

Since I’ve never used a cast iron skillet, I needed to do some research. Here are some of the things I’ve learned:

  1. Cast iron skillets hold heat well and distribute heat evenly
  2. They do not give off toxic fumes like some nonstick pans do
  3. A cast iron skillet will rust if it’s not properly seasoned
  4. Never EVER put a cast iron skillet in the dishwasher
  5. Wash only with water and a non-metal brush

I can’t wait to get to know my new friend. I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

