angie food cake

Family-friendly recipes from a frugal gal that likes to eat

A visit to Fogo de Chão

My husband and I were lucky enough to receive a gift card for Christmas to the Brazilian steakhouse Fogo de Chão. I’ve been wanting to eat at Fogo since it opened in Minneapolis a few years ago. We both had Martin Luther King day off, so we decided to get the most bang for our buck (er…gift card) and go out for lunch.

I’m so glad we made a reservation because the place opens for lunch at 11:30, and when we walked in at 11:35, it was PACKED. Mostly with working professionals and “the kids are off school, so let’s go out to lunch” families.

The first part of the Fogo experience is the salad bar. It is the freshest, fanciest one I’ve ever seen. Fresh meats, marinated veggies, doughy bread and the most delicious mozzarella balls and Parmesan slices I’ve ever tasted. So salty and good. Drool.

Next came the main part of the show. The. Meat.

I wish I could tell you exactly what all of this is, but this landed on my plate in one minute. No joke. Fogo’s website defines its technique of serving as a dining experience. I prefer to call it the meat dance.

The side dishes – banana, mashed potatoes and fried polenta – are constantly refilled as well. The sides were carby and yummy, albeit filling. Now is the part where I wish I could say that this meat was the most tender, most flavorful, most meaty meat I’ve ever tasted. But, alas, I can’t. The flavors were definitely there, but most of our meat was tough and chewy. Wah wah.

Despite the meat, we still had a great time. This certainly was a dining experience, and I can’t say enough good things about the atmosphere and the salad bar. Most importantly, I had a great (free!) lunch with my hubby, and that is better than any meat on a skewer.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

