angie food cake

Sweet, salty and a whole lotta carbs.

Taco Pasta

TGIF! Who has big weekend plans? I have a busy day tomorrow. My city hosts a clean up day, so my husband and I get to drop off a truckload of crap! I. Cannot. Wait. Our garage is full of random things the previous owner left for us, and it’s finally time to say goodbye!

I’m also spending Saturday afternoon with my sister-in-law and mother-in-law having a soup cooking extravaganza! We’re making chicken chili, steak chili and minestrone. We’re all looking forward to having freezers stocked full of soup for the upcoming winter.

I’m planning to make an Olive Garden copycat minestrone recipe, so I’ll share it with you next week.

This week has been a good one. Kicked it off with tailgating at the Gopher Homecoming game. I didn’t go to the U, but it’s still fun to dress up in Gopher gear and show our support. Plus day drinking is always a blast!

I’ve also just been enjoying the weather. I feel like we often miss out on fall in Minnesota (official seasons are winter and road construction), but this year has been really great. I love this tree in our backyard.

Too bad there’s already 5,897 leaves on the ground and another 6,324 still on the tree. Yay raking.

We also got to dog-sit Amery, Scott’s parent’s dog. It’s so fun for Luke to have a friend in the house.

 

I also spent a lot of time on Pinterest this week, looking for new recipes. This recipe contains two of my favorite words – taco and pasta. Sold!

 

Taco Pasta
From Overworked Supermom

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef (I used ground turkey)
8-12 ounces medium pasta shells  (I used whole wheat penne)
1 small onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (14 oz.) can diced tomatoes, drained
1 packet (4 tablespoons) taco seasoning
3 ounces cream cheese (I used 1/3 less fat)
1/2 cup sour cream (I used light)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional – I didn’t have this, so I didn’t use it, but would’ve been great.)
Salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain, reserving 1/2 cup of pasta water. Set aside.
  2. In a large skillet, cook the ground meat and onions over medium-high heat until the meat is done. Drain any excess water or grease.
  3. Add the diced tomatoes, garlic and taco seasoning and let simmer over medium heat, about 3-5 minutes.
  4. Stir in the cream cheese, sour cream, cooked pasta and a little of the pasta water. Continue stirring until the cream cheese is melted and the sauce is well blended. Simmer for a few minutes over medium heat to reduce the sauce.*
  5. Salt and pepper to taste. If using cilantro, toss right before serving.

*I am unsure if the pasta water is essential to this recipe. You wouldn’t need to simmer to reduce the sauce if you didn’t use it, but it might add flavor. Like I said, I’m unsure! Next time I make this, I’ll skip the pasta water to see what happens.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Taco Pasta

  1. Sarah Howard on said:

    Please share the Olive Garden knock off! I love that stuff! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers

